Toni Hagen
Dalai Lama

  Nepal in detail

Geography: Nepal is a sovereign and independent kingdom. It is bordered by the "autonomous" region of Tibet in the North, and by India in the South, East and West. Its location stretches 885 kilometres from West to East, and in the North-South direction its width varies between 141 and 241 kilometres. The country can be divided into the following 3 geographical zones

Alpine Zone:
The altitude in this zone varies between 4877 and 8848 metres. 8 of the 14 highest mountain peaks in the world - which are more than 8000 metres high - are to be found here including Mount Everest, Annapurna, Dhaulagiri and others.

Terai region: Terai region: The lowlands in the South, towards the Indian border, make up approx. 17% of the countries area.

  Nepal   •Nepal in detail   History   Population  Climate   Travel tips

Middle mountainous region:This region makes up approx. 64% of the countries area Here lie the Mahabharat mountain range which reaches a height of 4877 metres, and the lower chain of the Churia mountains.



Sponsors + Links
Nepal Forum Buddhism Sitemap